top of page

What have you been up to this summer?

I've been mainly laying down the base fitness for my full Ironman in Chattanooga on September 30th. Part of that was racing two 70.3s to test race nutrition and strategy; the Grand Rapids Half Triathlon and IM 70.3 Muncie where I was joined by Purdue teammates Kevin Schrock and Brian Long. Most of my training up till August was focused on laying down a good base layer of fitness and strength before I start to build and peak for Chattanooga. The training is starting to get longer and looking forward to the school year I'll be doing a large balancing act as I have triathlon, school and my position as triathlon club president to focus on.

Throughout the summer I have also done a few duathlons to strengthen my position in the age group rankings, I finished out my last rotation of my co-op internship in Chicago and I played a couple rounds of golf to take a mental and physical break from the demands of triathlon training. I am however super excited and ready to be back at Purdue and training with the team, the long days on the bike and in the pool have been pretty quiet without my friends there with me.

bottom of page